Life Changes

It’s been a hectic month with big life changes happening in waves. First, my family is growing as my son Christopher Brodie was born September 4th, 8lbs 12ozs and 19 3/4″. It has truly been a blessing and both mommy and baby are doing well. Second, and more relevant to my blog is that I have moved on from Pragmatic Works to accept a position with Microsoft.

I spent two years at Pragmatic Works and I am forever indebted to my coworkers and the friends I made while there. Not only did I have the opportunity to learn from some of the brightest and most talented people in the industry but I’ve discovered an entirely new side of what we do and that is the community.

Prior to joining Pragmatic Works, I rarely if ever participated in the community. I never blogged or attended much less spoke at community events. Now, I both speak and blog regularly, volunteer for PASS and I have been blessed with the opportunity to work in various capacities on 4 different books. My passion for this part of my job is what keeps me going and I look forward to continuing to grow in my abilities and contribute in meaningful ways in my new role.

My new role with Microsoft is a lot like my old role. I will continue to function as a consultant, engaging with customer’s to help them maximize their investment in SQL Server, the Microsoft BI Stack and Big Data. I will also have the opportunity to expand my horizons into other areas of interest such as SharePoint, Windows 8 and Mobile Development and Azure Services (IaaS and PaaS).

Going forward this blog will continued to be maintained and I will continue to diligently blog as I learn new things in the hopes that it helps some of you learn as well.

Till next time,

Chris

2 thoughts on “Life Changes

  1. Congrats on all of the new and exciting changes! Also, thanks for your help on the early DTS conversions(lol), professional advice and insight on how to become a SQL beast! It was a pleasure working with you at Pragmatic. Good luck and best wishes to you and your family in all of your future endeavors!

Leave a Reply

